From 100 onward (Reading List)

I set up my Shelfari (on Amazon) account a few years ago and loaded it down with every book I remember reading in its entirety in my life. Last year, I got to 100 books total. Yes, I counted stuff like Dr. Seuss but I tried not to abuse that. To be fair, it did count the entire LOTR set as one book, so I stand behind my decisions. At any rate, I’m trying to get that number up to 125, though I’m going to be realistic about my approach and try not to rush things since I’ve got so much else going on. If you’re reading this post at thetenofswords, you can see my up-to-date Shelfari list at the bottom of the page. As of this posting, I’m working on the following books:

– The Quest NIV study bible (The footnotes and asides make it much more approachable than the straight text, even if it is aimed at teenagers)
– Paradise Lost by John Milton – This is one I’ve been meaning to read since high school. I’m stubbornly attacking this and a few other “chore books” among my more enjoyable reads. As an aspiring writer, I think there’s value in reading the classics just to get an idea for how other people write.
– The Tao of Jeet Koon Do by Bruce Lee – Although I’m not actively practicing martial arts, I want to take the philosophical approach in this book and apply it to my other pursuits until I can get into martial arts again.
– Intuitive Biostatistics by Harvey Motulsky – Working in a biomedical science lab, a foundation in biostatistics should serve me well. This book is pretty readable given the content so I’m hoping it’s not going to be too painful.

It’ll probably take me a while to get through these, but I’m planning to get on a streak of easier books after I get some of these figured out.

Leave a Reply

