How to meditate daily

“A fantastic way to gain insight and slow down your path through life. “

How I did it: Bit by bit I read books, checked out different guided meditation audios, and made time to do it for at least 10 minutes a day. It’s a bit hard to get in the habit at first, but if you keep at it, you’ll start to notice improvements in your focus after a while, and I intend to keep deepening my practice to gain as much benefit as I can from here on out. 

Lessons & tips: – Start with a short meditation and keep doing it regularly. even 1-5 minutes a day is a good start, I think

– Experiment with different techniques until you find the ones that resonate with you. You can meditate sitting, laying down, or moving (as in yoga and tai chi), and you can meditate with either secular or spiritual/religious themes depending on your preference.

– If possible, try to do it in the mornings when you won’t be disrupted. If that doesn’t work, just strive to find a time slot that you can protect.

Resources:

  • Jon Kabat-Zinn’s Guided Mindfulness Meditation CDs
  • Global Yoga, a cd by Angela Carole Brown. Her compassion meditation is free on youtube and the yoga exercises on the CD were worth it. 
  • How to Meditate by Lawrence LeShan – A classic in the field, gives an introduction to a number of different meditative exercises. 
  • I personally had some background in tai chi which helped me with the concept of meditative states. I recommend finding some sort of class or workshop if you’re having trouble getting started on your own. 

It took me 15 months.

It made me more at ease

Leave a Reply

